Help with Title of Next Book?

MarkMcElroy

Would you be willing to help me with my next book's title?

Now that I've gotten _A Guide to Tarot Card Meanings_ out the door, I'm getting ready to publish an updated and simplified version of a book published earlier as _The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Tarot_. (The rights to that text have reverted back to me -- but the title didn't, since the good folks at Que Books own the rights to "The Absolute Beginner's Guide" series.)

I've been toying with calling the book, "The Best Tarot Book for Beginners Ever Written by Mark McElroy." Note that the "by Mark McElroy" bit is part of the title!

So: I'm not claiming to have written the best Tarot book for beginners ever written. Instead, I'm saying this book is the best Tarot book *I've* ever written. (And, honestly, I think it is.) Also, when someone searches Amazon.com for "best Tarot book," this book will float to the top of those search results!

I admit, though, that the title is a little "in your face!" -- and, while I'm just having a bit of fun, I'm concerned that some folks might not get the joke, and mistake my joviality for puffed-up pride.

I'm reminded of the kerfluffle over the cover of my first book: _Putting the Tarot to Work_. The publisher suggested three covers, and I fell in love with the bright green one featuring a grinning 1980's-era businessman nested down in a stockpile of cash.

We took all three covers to Wald and Ruth Amberstone's Reader's Studio event in New York and asked the Tarot tribe assembled there what they thought. Universally, my favorite choice was absolutely hated … and my least favorite choice was universally loved!

I didn't listen to wisdom of the crowd. We plowed ahead with what I believed was an engaging and different cover.

And, boy oh boy, was I wrong.