Question on the strength card

Neely75

I'm just learning the meaning of the RW cards. I have the Original Rider Waite. I've heard that the Strength card means strength from within. What in the imagery would tell you this? I took it to be the closed eyes, going within to find courage. But I'm told the eyes aren't closed. Is she just looking downwards to the lion? What do you think of the imagery of this card?

Abrac

In occult art, the Soul is often depicted as a woman. The idea of inner strength is shown in this card as a woman (soul) exercising her authority over the savage beast (instinct). She may also represent Reason.

moon_shadow

edited

BodhiSeed

The following is just my opinion:

The infinity symbol above the woman's head shows her connection to Infinite Wisdom and Power (a spiritual wisdom and power - reminds me of Gandhi and his philosophy of "ahimsa," or nonviolence).
She wears a chain of flowers (rather than an iron chain) that symbolizes the control is through love rather than force.
The woman's white robe represents this spiritual control as well, and that her intentions and motivations are pure.
The mountain in the background represents the sacred goal (self-mastery through compassion).

Bodhran

moon_shadow

*edited

Abrac

In early Tarots, this card may have had a meaning more akin to brute strength, but over time it gradually came to mean fortitude which implies determination, endurance, courage, resilience, stamina, etc.

frelkins

Abrac said:
In early Tarots, this card may have had a meaning more akin to brute strength, but over time it gradually came to mean fortitude which implies determination, endurance, courage, resilience, stamina, etc.

the mantegna tarot, for example, shows a woman with a lion and a marble column. here the card is explicitly called fortitude, one of the virtues. http://trionfi.com/mantegna/e/e-mantegna-tarocchi/36.jpg