Hey thoth enthusiasts

ladyfaerylainell

I am new to tarot and I bought the book of thoth as well as the deck about 2 years ago and did absolutely nothing. The book confused me and the cards intimidated me. Now I find the cards beautiful and insightful but the book is still confusing. Is there a cliff notes to thoth or some user friendly guide to understanding Crowleys deck? If anyone has any resources that works well please let me know. Thanks in advance. :)

Zephyros

There are many books about the Crowley deck. The Book of Thoth is very intimidating (I can't make heads or tails of it myself). I myself haven't gotten around to buying any yet, but i'm sure some one can reccomend some. i've heard good things about Bazhnaf's(did i spell it right) book.

Diwha

Books on Thoth

Understanding Aleister Crowley's Thoth Tarot: By Lon Milo Duquette

Mirror of the Soul : Handbook for the Aleister Crowley Tarot
by Gerd Ziegler

Here are just a few, you can many more on the net.

Diwha

Gardener

Ah, yes, the Book of Thoth. I've never actually done drugs, but I find that if I have a glass of wine and ask someone to read to me from the Book of Thoth, I get a dizzy and surreal feeling that's gotta be similar. Heady stuff. And, if you are in the right mood, very very funny. Crowley was really good at insulting people, but he was so clever about it I bet half the time they didn't even realize they were being insulted. He talks about the lamb of god in one sentence, then about tasty lamb for dinner in the next. Unbelievable!

So most of us find other ways to get insight into the cards.

Honestly, I think the best way in is the pictures. I get amazing readings just looking at the pictures. I found the keywords too demanding, so I cut them off. (The cards now fit together in really neat ways, without their borders.) I guess what I'm saying is that it's Lady Harris whose ideas I enjoy.