Do other cultures have unique ways of interpreting the tarot?

ThusSpokeZarathustra

Do other cultures hold different opinions on the meanings of the tarot? Namely, Japan, but learning about any culture other than our Western one would be appreciated.

Grizabella

I've been told that Lenormand cards are more common than Tarot in Europe. That was a few years ago, though, so I don't know if it's still true.

Even in our own country people have differing opinions on what the cards and the card combinations are saying.

3ill.yazi

I'm no expert, but I believe that other forms of divination are much more popular in Asia. I have seen some Chinese oracle decks, but don't know much about them.

I've used the I Ching for divination, and have found it much more accurate (for me) than tarot when doing daily readings.

From having purchased a european TdM deck, I can tell you that the card meanings are not universal, apparently. Though I'm referring to the wacky LWB of the Heron TdM.

http://tarot-heritage.com/2014/03/12/the-wacky-world-of-the-heron-lwb/

Marirowana

Do other cultures hold different opinions on the meanings of the tarot?

I wondered about the same thing :) and I think they do.

It is interesting to compare similar decks, made by artists from different cultures. I found it, for example, interesting to look at the symbolism in the Nusantara Tarot. It gives some insight in the Indonesian way of looking at tarot.

It would take quiet some study though, to make valid conclusions about this subject.

ravenest

As Griz pointed out , you dont have to have a different culture for that, I live in a similar area to 3 people on AT and we all have similar cultural upbringings and we could probably all stand on three extreme corners of AT opinion and throw rocks at each other :laugh: .

So I imagine, even more so with different cultures. What is familiar and makes sense in one way to one culture may be totally different from another.