The "Celestial Globe" in The Star

noctambule

I've been struggling with The Star. If the circle in the card is a "celestial globe" as Crowley writes. How are there stars outside it? What is the celestial globe and what is its significance in a reading? Where is Nuit in the card? Apparently she's pouring the immortal liquor of her life on the abyss between the great sea of binah and the fertile earth.

Getting back to the celestial globe, I know the card is a lot about making the latent power of the universe and the subconscious manifest.

And I thought about how, when I am envisioning "the universe" or "god" or whatever you like to call it, I can't conceive of something that is infinite, I have to place artificial limits on it in order to even think about it. And, maybe the celestial globe as contrasted with Nuit and her world is a visual representation of that.

Ps, I'm new to the aeclectic forums, and I have only been studying tarot in earnest for less than a year.

ravenest

I've been struggling with The Star. If the circle in the card is a "celestial globe" as Crowley writes. How are there stars outside it?

Hello and welcome :)

Because it is not a 'normal' or physical star *, it is a representation of an ideal form that projects into the Celestial Sphere and the physical Universe ... into the Celestial Sphere, manifesting as Venus, then into earth (and self) as a type of alchemical 'star dew' .

* " In the left-hand corner of the picture is the star of Babalon; the Sigil of the Brotherhood of the A.'. A.'. For Babalon is yet a further materialization of the original idea of Nuith; she is the Scarlet Woman, the sacred Harlot who is the lady of Atu XI. From this star, behind the celestial sphere itself, issue the curled rays of spiritual light. Heaven itself is no more than a veil before the face of the immortal goddess."

What is the celestial globe and what is its significance in a reading?