78 Weeks: Bateleur / Magician

jmd

To find out what these threads refer to, please seeThe link above provides suggested dates and links to all threads for this study.

Some amongst us may be working through the deck in a different order, and using different decks.

For more general comments or questions about the 78 weeks, please post in the thread linked above.

Enjoy!

Major Tom

It being the solstice, and wanting to start at the beginning, I decided to take a chance by being the first to respond in this thread. ;) It is my sincere desire that this journey takes me to Australia in July 2005 and thus it seems appropriate for me to start with the Magician.

I am using for my studies the Tarot of Marseilles as published by US Games, having received this deck as a birthday present from Jane this year. It should be noted that the titles of the cards are in English.

As I've previously announced I will be sketching the card I am studying. I have since joining this community become increasingly interested in creating a Marseilles style deck. One of my concerns with the Marseilles style is the historical dress of the featured characters being too distant for modern people to relate to in their everyday lives. Thus, my sketches, though based on the Marseilles 'woodcut' type of artwork, will attempt to update the dress of the characters to a more modern style.

Another concern is that the title of this card seems to my friend Diana to be inappropriate in translation to English. Thus for my sketch I changed the title to the Conjuror, being to my mind closer to Le Bateleur.

I suspect others will provide detailed meanings as part of their reflections in this thread, so I will suffice by saying that my keywords for the Conjuror are: energy, application and willpower.

Edited to add: My friend Diana pointed out that the wand was pointed in the wrong direction and that my Conjuror didn't have a coin in his other hand. These details have been corrected.