Studying Kabbalah

NightQueen

I have some knowledge of Kabbalah, and use it in magik and tarot, but I would like to study it more, The tree of life and the use of Kabbalah. What would be the best books to look into for studying Kabbalah and using it to its full advantage particularly in magik

isthmus nekoi

Israel Regardie's books are accessible to the beginner although he tends to run on the verbose end. Also, if you do searches, spell it with a "q" and your hits should be more relevant for you.

Greg Stanton

Hmmmm. Since Kabbalah originated in the 12th century, I'm not sure there is such a thing as Hermetic Kabbalah.

I do like the book "Kabbalistic Handbook for the Practicing Magician" by Joseph Lisiewski. The author's reverence is for Eliphas Levi is surprising, but the bulk of the book is interesting and informative. You should probably read the same Author's Ceremonial Magic as well, to understand where he's coming from. KHPM is hard to come by these days since the mess at New Falcon, but I was told to expect a new printing of the book in August.

UPDATE: New Falcon now lists it for sale (it was formerly out of stock):
http://newfalcon.com/kabbalistichandbookforthepracticingmagician.aspx

birdsong123

Greg Stanton said:
Hmmmm. Since Kabbalah originated in the 12th century, I'm not sure there is such a thing as Hermetic Kabbalah.

I do like the book "Kabbalistic Handbook for the Practicing Magician" by Joseph Lisiewski. The author's reverence is for Eliphas Levi is surprising, but the bulk of the book is interesting and informative. You should probably read the same Author's Ceremonial Magic as well, to understand where he's coming from. KHPM is hard to come by these days since the mess at New Falcon, but I was told to expect a new printing of the book in August.

UPDATE: New Falcon now lists it for sale (it was formerly out of stock):
http://newfalcon.com/kabbalistichandbookforthepracticingmagician.aspx