Legend: King of Swords, Mordred

Amashelle

When I first found this study group (yay! it already exists, btw) I immediately went looking for the Mordred thread. I naturally assumed it would already exist, so imagine my surprise when the index had nothing for him!

At first, I was just going to wait for someone to create the thread. I'm new to this study group and didn't want to just jump in like that, but then I decided what the heck?

When I first found Mordred's card after getting this deck, I was a little disappointed. Mordred is my favorite of the Arthurian characters, but his card didn't seem to fit my image of him, but when I looked more closely I changed my mind.

Mordred, to me, always seemed to have inherited more of his mother's intelligence than the other Orkney boys. He had her coniving spirit, but not her patience. He leans out of his throne, one leg extended, ready to stand at a moment's notice. The dog on the floor is more relaxed, lounging by the fire: the only bit of warmth in the drafty Orkney (I assume this is Orkney) castle.

As though aware of how precarious his position (physically and conceptually, what with his connection to Arthur and all that that implies) he looks ahead, but his eyes seem to shift from side to side, suspicious, or maybe just looking for some way to solidify himself in Arthur's good graces: though his efforts to do this (exposing the Lancelot/Guinevere affair) only causes more problems.

He is looking for the unpredictable, and in doing so, he himself becomes unpredictable, too. He keep his deepest thoughts completely hidden, showing only the power and never the intent.

In T.H. White's version, Mordred even goes a little mad with his paranoid thoughts, and certainly there is a glimmer of that in this card, in the way he sits, unarmed, but at the ready.

He is also strong, and when you put him next to Arthur's card, it is not hard to see the conflict between them.