Thoth-suited spreads?

The Night Dances

Hello everyone.

I'm new here, and whilst not new to Tarot in general I'm very new to Thoth, since i got my pack I feel like the cards are compelling me to learn as much as I possibly can about them.

So I have a couple of questions, which i am sure will have been asked here before...

1. can anyone explain the significance of the Kaballah tree of life on the cards? i have read some of crowley's writings on the subject but have found it hard to decipher..

2. i have read that traditional card spreads don't work so well with Thoth, as they are better read using the elemental dignities, could anyone recommend some spreads suited to Thoth please?

Thanks very much!

Elisabeth

The Night Dances

Hi Eowyn.

Thanks very much, I'll check those out now.

E

Yygdrasilian

Do you know the way to Hera's orchard?

Aloha,

The attached graphics may be of use to you, though I'm not sure it's permitted to link these within this forum - there are rules about that sort of thing...

Crowley is intentionally cryptic on certain aspects of his deck & you may notice that that has become something of a tradition amongst Thelemites. Dion Fortune's The Mystical Qabalah may be a more accessible introduction to the use of Number within the Book of Thoth, but figuring out how these 'spreads' fit together presents its' own sort of narrative concerning One's journey through the Tree.

In much the same way that Checkers or Chess possess their field of play in the form of a checkered board, Tarot utilizes the matrix of 10 points (sefirot) and 22 inter-connecting lines (pathways) known as the ‘Tree of Life’. By using the simple number trick of adding the individual digits of a number together until reaching a single digit sum, One is able to group the Tarot’s enumeration of Hebrew Letters into 9 sets.