Souls Cards I, Card 1

Elnor

Even though the cards themselves don't have titles or numbers, they are in a numerical order on Deborah Koff-Chapin's website- so I thought it would make it easier for everyone if I just posted a link to the gallery page illustrating the cards.....

http://www.touchdrawing.com/3SoulCards/SC1/SC1gal.htm

and the card I was looking at today is card #1.

I thought I would just write a sort of stream of consciousness about the card as I studied it... what does it make me feel- or think- or presume??

My first impression- lovely card. Maternal. Protective. The child looks happy- he is out with his mum, and her arm curls lovingly around him, while he indulges in playful fantasies- catching (or intuiting?) things coming out from her head.

But something about her gaze bothers me- she's so VACANT looking. There is a (plant?) growing up the other side of the mother- she nestles the bud of the flower in her other arm like it is a baby. She is distracted- not looking at the older child, who seems to be aware of the thoughts eminating from her head- and who actually has his back to her- trying to catch mummy's attention?

While I looking at this scenario, a phrase kept coming into my head- 'Mother's Little Helper'... so I did a Google, and it came up- (an old Rolling Stones song about the "use of prescription drugs among housewives" according to Wikipedia).

That's what this card actually makes me think of. Over-stretched and over-stressed mums... coping and smiling like zombies for the neighbours or the over-critical in-laws; bit of post-natal depression, maybe??
And the older child who knows that something is terribly wrong- but doesn't know what, because he is too young to understand.

I'm suddenly thinking of Sylvia Plath now-:bugeyed: oh, dear. I'll stop there.

Well, THAT's an interesting start, isn't it?!

I intend to study the card more in-depth this week... will post more insights and thoughts later.

elnor

FMTarotstudy