Playing Card Oracles - Alchemy vs Conventional one

MareSaturni

Hi everyone.

I have been using Ana Cortez's Playing Card Oracle system for almost 10 years now and it's certainly my favourite divination method along with the Tarot. I've been using it in professional readings with great success.

I purchased the Alchemy edition when it came out and read the book that was published around that time, and while I find it gorgeous and can't take my eyes off it... I still seem to read better with the conventional PCO. I really don't know why... The Alchemy is beautiful and has powerful imagery, but I feel that the first deck simply gels better with the system. I can't help but feel that, overall, they are way too different decks to be considered a single system.

I was wondering if anyone feels the same or if I'm just a stubborn silly person, lol. I might have to offer some readings here with the Alchemy, to see if I wrap my head around it.

Thanks for reading!

Lee

Hi MareSaturni,

I don't have the Alchemy edition, but I remember, at the time it came out, reading that it apparently uses artwork that was done before the artwork for the standard edition. In other words, the standard edition represents a further development, whereas the Alchemy images are from an earlier stage of evolution. That being the case, it would make sense that the standard edition seems to work better with the system as laid out in the book than the earlier Alchemy images.

MareSaturni

Hi MareSaturni,

I don't have the Alchemy edition, but I remember, at the time it came out, reading that it apparently uses artwork that was done before the artwork for the standard edition. In other words, the standard edition represents a further development, whereas the Alchemy images are from an earlier stage of evolution. That being the case, it would make sense that the standard edition seems to work better with the system as laid out in the book than the earlier Alchemy images.