Six of Pentacles + Holy Cow

Kosmoran

In the GD correspondence system, the Six of Pentacles is related to Moon in Taurus. That suggests me the symbolism of the Holy Cow. The bull (taurus) can be associated to the Sun, and the cow horns are associated to the moon since ancient times. I dont know much about Egyptian mythology, but the Hathor symbol might indicate the crescent moon with the sun disk - fertility. It seems to me that the Six of Pentacles is all about weath, according to Mathers.

Am I going too far in my associations?

ps - let me just say that I'm working inside the GD system, I know it's not absolute, but it's the main reference of the RWS deck, which I'm studying.

Curtis Penfold

Whenever I think of Taurus, I definitelly think of motherhood. I don't know which ancient religious culture views it this way, but yes, sometimes the bull (sun) is this great cow's son.

Kosmoran

Curtis Penfold said:
Whenever I think of Taurus, I definitelly think of motherhood. I don't know which ancient religious culture views it this way, but yes, sometimes the bull (sun) is this great cow's son.

That's interesting. I've read somewhere that the original Taurus symbol was probably the cow, not the bull. The cow represents the feminine principle that receives the energy of the masculine force that precedes it - Aries. It's interesting to notice that, while Aries is ruled by Mars, Taurus is ruled by Venus. Mythologically, Mars and Venus, Ares and Aphrodite, are married. Then after Taurus you have Gemini, which could be seen as the sacred union between the masculine and the feminine principles. All that to say that, yes, it makes a lot of sense to see Taurus as the holy cow.

Curtis Penfold

O.K. I'm having difficulties with the cow giving birth to the bull (sun). But, in Wikipedia, on Taurus (constellation) it says: