A Thoth Beginner's Library?

teomat

I've recently decided to study the Thoth, as I would like to get to grips with this deck and the philosophy behind it (if I can!). I have DuQuette's book and the Book on Thoth on the way, but I was wondering what other books would be useful for a 'Thoth beginner's library'?

I'm also a newbie with regards to astrology, Qabala and the Golden Dawn. I know there are loads of books on these subjects, but I was wondering if anyone can suggest any that are particularly useful for studying the Thoth (bearing in mind that I'm a newbie :))?

I'm wary of buying random astrology books as I understand that modern astrology (which feature Neptune, Uranus, Pluto etc) is somewhat different to that used in the deck (I think). I've seen quite a few websites that might be useful, however I would also like some good old-fashioned books too.

Any recommendations? :)

thorhammer

Book T (aka Liber T, the book not the deck) , which is available online as a PDF in many places, will help you as well.

Truthfully, I've got so many of Crowley's works now that I'd have a hard time separating out the most useful - I've brought all of them to bear on my understanding of the Thoth at some point or another.

Tarot and the Magus by Paul Hughes-Barlow is designed for the Thoth and the Opening of the Key "spread".

Steer clear of Banzjaf (sp?) and Arrien if you want to use the Thoth as originally intended. I think you're on the right track with DuQuette and BoT - I've only just gotten DuQuette, truth to tell, and haven't even opened it - and yet I have a good grounding in the deck so far. So don't stress. I started on the Book of Thoth - made no sense to me so I followed its little breadcrumb trails and kept coming back to it, and tiny flakes of confusion would come away to reveal glittering truths . . . it's a long, slow process, unlike that with any other deck. So be prepared for an epic journey :)

\m/ Kat

gregory