Which Thoth deck should I get?

Carla

I'm comfortable with RWS, but I've been wondering about Thoth. I think I may be ready to buy my first Thoth deck. Which do you recommend? I know there are many editions out there. Also, which book is the best companion book for a complete newbie to Thoth? Is it DuQuette?

ETA: Another question. How do you say Thoth?

1. Thoth like 'thought', only with an extra 'th' on the end?

2. Toth?

3. Tot?

4. Thoth like 'both'?

5. Or even I've read mentioned somewhere Tay-ho-tay, which I think I'd rather just give up and call it the Crowley deck than resort to. (It's like someone saying 'kah-rah-tay' for karate (which most americans pronounce 'ku-rah-dee')--even it's technically correct it just sounds ridiculous.)

6. None of the above? (Do share)

Personally in my head, I've always said it like version 1. But I've never heard anyone actually say it.

WolfyJames

I'd suggest the medium size, the purple box with the three Magis by AGM Muller and US Games. The cards are big enough to see the details but small enough to handle the deck and use it.

As for the book, Duquette's book is a must indeed, it's the first one you should read. After you could always try Thoth Companion: The Key to the True Symbolic Meaning of the Thoth Tarot by Snuffin and The Crowley Tarot: The Handbook to the Cards by Hajo Banzhaf.

Grigori

I'd agree with Wolfy's book suggestions, and agree either a medium sized deck or a large if you can handle the full size (I find the full size best, but I cut off the borders. If you are new to the deck, you probably want to keep them as they help learning).

I've heard it pronounced a variety of ways, most you have listed.

It seems an extra one has some authority also. The H's are mouthed so that it rhymes with BOAT. e.g. T(h)OAT(h) - TOTE

Which one is right, I suspect no one is left who knows the authoritative pronounciation for an ancient Egyptian deity :)

Le Fanu

Carla said: