What is Symbolism?

Lourdez

I am soooooo embarrassed right about now.... So please be gentle:(

Ok I've decided to study Thoth and I've always thought I was to unintelligent for this deck because I do not understand symbolism ..... WELL sitting down to my first self taught lesson it just occurred to me I don't understand symbolism because I just don't know what it is, or means? Oh dear does that even make sense?

Ok so I tried, I googled but I still don't know what it means? I only have 2 books as I am waiting on an order for more but these books don't explain what it is :(

In simple terms what is it?

*crawling back in my deep dark hole*

This is so embarrassing :(

Lourdez

Oh gosh thank you so much that helped alot. No wonder other members were questioning why the heck I would like to study Thoth without the symbolism. I was on a different page :(

This journey will be long but I am thinking very very fulfilling :)

Padma

Oh gosh thank you so much that helped alot. No wonder other members were questioning why the heck I would like to study Thoth without the symbolism. I was on a different page :(

This journey will be long but I am thinking very very fulfilling :)

lol ;) If you relate to the Thoth, intuitively, why wouldn't you study it? You will certainly need the symbology of it though...until your books come, you can always check these links out:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thoth_tarot_deck

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=63061

Good luck! :)

ravenest

A symbol (or a set of symbols, like in a myth or folk story or even fairy tale) is a way of describing something that either; may not be possible through normal, or rational processes, speech, art writing, etc. or may be a 'short hand' way of depicting an idea that would take a lots of words or images.

E.g. The first ; the Yin Yang symbol (being a depiction of the Tao - which the sages say cannot be described or explained).