How do you interpret's Thoth's Devil in a reading?

d_muse

I'm studying the Devil, I read the study threads on the Devil here at AT and I have a couple of books for the Thoth deck, but I'm still a bit hazy how this is interpreted in a reading. The Thoth devil is different from the established devil meanings. I can understand the raw creative energy, procreation, joy in all matter, in all aspects of creation, yada, yada, but I can't think of a way to interpret it correctly doing a reading.

Gwynne

Interpret it exactly as you said!

raw creative energy, procreation, joy in all matter, in all aspects of creation, yada, yada,

The Thoth's Devil is so different, it's a goat with flowers on its head for crying out crazy! LOL It's all about sensuality and sexuality, those things which modern society relegates to the category of "sinfulness" throws into the domain of the Devil. It's all those things that people are afraid of even though they enjoy it oh so much. And, in moderation, they are really, really good things to enjoy!

d_muse

Thanks Gwynne - you gave me another perspective, I really appreciate it!

Hazel

Also on the card

The tiny symbol on the bottom of the card to the right of "The Devil" is that of Capricorn. So the card could potentially reflect an actual capricorn, or some characteristics of that sign?

fyreflye

Look at the two "globes" within which the tiny human figures are housed.
Look how they're situated. If the "globes" are what they resemble, what would those tiny human figures inside them be? They look like they want out. How would the goat release them?

prudence

the goat would release them the horniest way possible, I believe.

d_muse

Astrid O - your post ... I'm dying laughing here! Brilliant!

fyreflye

Astrid O wins the Aleister Crowley goat prize!

Astrid O said:
the goat would release them the horniest way possible, I believe.