Question from a newcomer to Tarot

beatrix

Hi all,

I'm new to Tarot and the forum here. I've been a collector of Tarot decks for a few years. I had friends that read them and though I never had much of a desire to read them myself, I fell in love with the artwork and would stare at certain decks and certain cards endlessly.

Now my decks have been packed away for a couple years and I'm feeling the urge to dust them off and actually begin using them.

One deck I've always been drawn to is the Thoth tarot. I never bought my own because several of my friends thought that doing so was a bad idea. They cautioned me that anyone who is not serious about reading Tarot should not buy this deck or even own it. And- that if I ever decided to start reading cards I should by no stretch of the imagination begin with this deck.

So here's my current query- ever since I saw the lust card years and years ago I never forgot it. I used to try and doodle it without thinking in the margins of notebooks and I used to see it in my dreams sometimes. I've always been drawn to that card and fascinated by it. To me, it has a special meaning that is about finding the courage to embrace your overwhelming desires and deepest fears. To learn to live with them and 'ride them' rather than beat them down or be at odds with them your whole life.

I've always wanted to buy this deck and beyond that, I've always wanted to get a tattoo of this card. However, I've read some things about Crowley online and some people seem to associate him with some kind of ominous power and I'm not exactly sure as to why. It seems to me he was just kind of a libertine free thinking guy in his own time. I'm afriad to get this deck and to consider getting my tattoo because I'm afraid that I'll unwittingly draw some kind of bad energy to myself. But then I think- well, is the symbol Crowley's or has it become mine?