Readins using Tree of Life

Zechariah13

Im not entirely sure if this should go here or in the Using Tarot Cards section, but i figured people who frequented this part of the forum might be more likely to know the answer.

I am relatively new to tarot, practing for only a few months. But the first spread i ever did for someone was a Tree of Life spread, mainly because he asked for 'the biggest most complicated spread i knew' so i gave it a go. I had to look at my book that came with my deck (Tarot of Vampyres by Ian Daniels) the entire way, but i he said i was quite spot on with it, and it has become my favorite spread, if its appropriate for a given situation. I typically use it to assess the energies surrounding or being used by a particular person/thing/event at a specific moment, kinda like a snap shot.

But i am slowly finding out that this spread is far more complicated than i thought it was. My understanding of the Sephiroth might be exaggerated if i call it rudimentary, i dont really know anything about the paths between the Sephiroth, aside from that Daniels said each path is goverened by one of the Major ARcana, and i am hearing something about the sephiroth being divided into four based on the letters of the tetragrammaton? I find it all mildly confusing, as i havent started studying kabbalah yet.

Any help, guidance, corrections and/or pointers i could get in using the Tree of Life as a spread would be greatly appreciated

bradford

I would begin by ignoring the paths altogether. Try to refine a good, simple, working knowledge of the Ten Sephirot, maybe plus Da'at, with a set of clear keywords for what each one means. Use several keywords for each Sephira so you don't oversimplify. And try to get clear on how they relate to each other in different sets of pairs. For me they are "parts of the psyche", for you they might be something completely different.