Pick a card: any card

JulieG

Hi everyone!

Been ages since I posted and I've a lot of catching up to do on the threads, so sorry if this question is duplicated elsewhere.

I'm still quite new to Thoth but find it by far the most powerful deck I have connected with. Even though I am a flawed beginner, my Toth has given me many accurate readings - in many cases forseeing events that DO later occur. But I lack confidence in my readings as I am not fully versed on all things Tarot and so often "wing it" by acting on instinct alone.

One of those areas is in card selection, so I have a question I was hoping for advice on:

Do you HAVE to follow the traditional process of shuffling, cutting in three and re-stacking and then picking the top cards? Reason I ask is that I often feel my Thoth deck tell me otherwise. Sometimes I feel steered to spread the whole deck out face down and select my cards that way: picking the cards I feel drawn to. Other times I feel told to shuffle in a totally unique fashion.

I'm guessing that, as with many Tarot matters, I should act on what the cards prompt me to do.

Any views?

Thanks everyone.

InvisibleSoul

I definitely think there is no specific way it MUST be done- as with everything else about the tarot and our paths in general, it is all about YOU, what is right for YOU!

I have my own personal way I like to shuffle and deal, but even I do not remain strictly consistent in it- I go with the flow, listening to the cards and the situation as you described it very well.

There is no wrong or right way. The same energy that influences the interpretation you are putting onto your cards as you shuffle or pick-a-card also knows in advance WHAT you will do and HOW you will do it, and speak to you on your own personal level.

Aun

Hi Julie,

I couldn't agree more.

Shuffling, card meanings, spreads...
The right way is the way you feel confortable with, the way you feel is right....