Golden Dawn Magical Tarot

Le Fanu

Actually quite nice. As a kit I think it's probably the best out there in that the book which comes with it is excellent. Really good indepth and thorough explanations of the Golden Dawn system. I mean, I'm no expert but it seems to be an excellent, accessible analysis judging by the little I know and how readable the book actually is.

I think I was swayed by the astrological stuff. I know nothing about astrology and after reading this I felt informed which is a massive compliment to the authors as I have the biggest mental block in history of astrological stuff.

The cards are reasonably attractive . They are brightly coloured and I feel a natural "liking" for them which doesn't happen often as I'm quite critical of simple artwork in this style but these are very nice to work with. Only criticism? Large white borders which don't bother me but may bother others. Also Llewellyn cardstock, seems thin but - really - I don't feel that they won't last.

I think of this as a very good all-in-one thorough kit which if you studied only this deck and the book for twenty years would be twenty years well spent accumulating significant and timeless tarot knowledge.

Carla

Ace! That is a ringing endorsement, LeFanu, and confirmation of what I suspected about this deck. Okay, that's one tick FOR, then!

Zephyros

The Ciceros are excellent teachers, and I like their books. While looking for a Golden Dawn deck I was more attracted to the Hermetic, but I suppose that's just a matter of taste.

Le Fanu

The Ciceros are excellent teachers, and I like their books. While looking for a Golden Dawn deck I was more attracted to the Hermetic, but I suppose that's just a matter of taste.
Yes, I think artistically I prefer the Hermetic but I find it a bit impenetrable! I mean, I think so much of me being swayed by the Golden Dawn Magical Tarot was the helpfulness of the book whereas the Hermetic is just out there in the wilderness being impenetrable! :D