Tyldwick - Hermit

BodhiSeed

What I notice in the Hermit card:

lots of RED
lantern-like hanging lamp
fountain statuary (man) in wall niche

If you were to collect all the major arcana cards in this deck and fan them out, this one would stand out immediately because it is infused with the color red. Usually I associate red with passion, energy and the life force, but this doesn't seem to fit. In my former employment, I was a bookkeeper, so it wasn't surprising that the phrase "in the red or in the black" passed through my head. Being in the black means you are making enough money to pay bills and have some left over. Being in the red means you are operating with a deficit. So this card indicates the need for some spiritual accounting - not to find what is creating a hole in your wallet, but in your soul.

The lantern-type lamp obviously represents illumination. The man seeks clarity, and there are some dark places that he's going to have to shine the light on. Like the accountant, he's hoping to discover why he is spiritually overdrawn. Hopefully he'll find some answers, and one day he can hold out the lantern for others on the same quest.

The man and the stone piece he stands on appears to be a fountain statuary in a garden wall niche. He looks upward, almost as if he is seeing the stars for the first time. Now that he is alone and far from the hustle and bustle, there are less distractions and he glimpses things he hasn't noticed before. If this is a fountain, there is no water flowing, indicating the ability to detach and look at what is with objectivity rather than emotion. He is nearly naked (baring his soul), except for some sort of wrap around his waist. I am reminded of the phrase "girding your loins" that originated from a biblical expression that meant to tie up loose clothes so that you could work or travel more efficiently. In his case, it means he must prepare himself mentally for some difficult work ahead.

malpertuis.co.uk/2013

Attachments