2 of Cups - Where are they standing?

Margo9023

Hi everyone,
I'm studying the 2 of Cups today - Universal Rider Waite Tarot Deck. I noticed the man and woman are standing looks like their standing in the road - is that where they are? And, I'm wondering why the road? The words "cross-roads" comes to mind.

The house in the background looks secluded - kind of buried beneath the trees and grassy hills.

All feedback would be appreciated.

Zephyros

I don't know about the road, although it may very well be. The lion is an alchemical symbol, referring to the union of opposites, as Waite says in the PKT: "above their cups rises the Caduceus of Hermes, between the great wings of which there appears a lion's head. It is a variant of a sign which is found in a few old examples of this card. Some curious emblematical meanings are attached to it, but they do not concern us in this place."

Now, obviously this card speaks of Love, but as a lower numbered card, that love is still abstract and unformed. A crush, perhaps, passionate but of little practical value. The house is still far off probably because the two are in love, but they do not actually love each other (yet).

Margo9023

closrapexra

I don't know about the road, although it may very well be. The lion is an alchemical symbol, referring to the union of opposites, as Waite says in the PKT: "above their cups rises the Caduceus of Hermes, between the great wings of which there appears a lion's head. It is a variant of a sign which is found in a few old examples of this card. Some curious emblematical meanings are attached to it, but they do not concern us in this place."

Now, obviously this card speaks of Love, but as a lower numbered card, that love is still abstract and unformed. A crush, perhaps, passionate but of little practical value. The house is still far off probably because the two are in love, but they do not actually love each other (yet).

Hi Closrapexra!