Is anyone familiar with the "I Naibi Di Giovanni Vacchetta" deck?

Kingfish

I bought this deck 3 or 4 years ago at a time when I would occasionally buy a deck that I saw online, got excited about, ordered. recieved, put it away on a shelf. I just did a spread with it, and fell in love with the cards. Could be my favorite eventually but not good for now as I'm a beginner and am using the RWS for learning, although I don't care for the artwork or colors particularly. The "Naibi" deck I have is matte finish and no border. When I went online, curious to find out where I purchased it, I didn't find it, but noticed a reissue with different colors, gloss, and a green border---yuk.
Anyway, i would like to use the deck but does anyone know of a reference book? I don't understand much of the symbolism--just something here and there. The pip cards give some clues as to their meaning and I read somewhere that this deck may have been a precursor to the RWS. I just love the atmoshere of these cards, although I prefer cross cultural symbols to strictly Christian symbols, but nevertheless I find this deck to be fabulous!

BTW, are there any popular decks that come in matte finishes? I think the gloss detracts and I find matte cards to have a totally different feel which I really like. They just feel more natural to me, even more communicative.

Le Fanu

First of all, I can´t answer your question, and no, I can´t recommend a book which goes with your Naibi deck...

However, just wanted to chip in and say that I agree with you, this deck is wonderful. What you have sounds like the Meneghello version. What I have is the reprinted version with (green) borders which Lo Scarabeo published under the name Tarot of the Master and which is no longer being issued. I know what you mean about the gloss, but r.e the borders, I snipped´em all off. Now it looks lovely. I have one version with borders and one without.