Question for anyone willing to answer...

Kelmel1971

Hello all, I hope you are all well.
I am fairly new to the tarot and I am really enjoying learning about it. I have the typical, beginners Rider-Waite Deck and I am getting something out of it, but I think that maybe a deck that is more 'me' may be more helpful/constructive (this is what my sister, who is heavily into tarot and has much more experience than I, tells me). I realize there are hundreds, if not thousands of decks out here...just on Aeclectic Tarot I have reviewed dozens and dozens. I do not have a store nearby that would deal in this 'type' of thing so online is the most access I have to the different styles, etc. But I am not getting anything out of the online pictures and/or descriptions...any suggestions how to find a deck that is 'for me'? At least for starters it would have to be based on Rider-Waite as that is all I know (kinda!) so far.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks!
kelmel

Lillie

Hi Kelmel

Nice to hve you here on A.T.

You have posted your question here in the 'Thoth' forum. Perhaps it was because you have considered the Thoth deck.
In some ways it is very different from the Rider Waite (RWS), but in other ways it has many similarities. Both Crowley and Waite came from the same western magickal tradition, the Kabbalah, golden dawn etc.

I pretty much started with the Thoth and it is still my favourite deck, and the one I feel most comfortable reading with.

I found, (and you may find the same), that the deck I first learned with I kind of got stuck with. It and it's images, had got so far inside my head that it was difficult to read with a different deck. So, in that way the deck you choose now could be the one you will be using for many years to come.

Do not be taken in by the phrase 'beginners deck'. There is really no such thing. There are good decks and bad decks for each individual.