(8X4+4) layout v. (9X4) layout?

Llynn

This is a beginner's question and I apologize beforehand if it has been answered elsewhere. The LWB for my deck shows the Grand Tableau spread with the (8X4+4) arrangement, however, I have seen online a full spread using a (9X4) arrangement (on Iris Treppner's site). My question is: why/when would the (9X4) be used?

I recently started learning the Lenormand oracle with Sylvie's 'no-layout' method from her book and the AT workshops. I plan on buying the Treppner and/or Britta materials but not at the moment - still working on Sylvie's ideas. I'm being just a little bit impatient I suppose, but I prefer to think of it as 'being prepared' :)

lord_ewin

Edited - see blue below.

------
1st of all, I've never used the 8X4 + 4, so I can't comment on that. Would apprecite an explanation on how it works though!

2nd, I don't use the Treppner method for reading the 9X4 either. I am told that I use a variation of the French method.

With that in mind: In my view, the 9X4 is a method with a great deal of detail. I use the 9X4 for an extremely detailed reading as it answers a great deal of questions in one sitting. 'Most of the Secrets come out,' in my honest opinion. If done right, it does more than answer questions, it gives us a psychic portrait of the person we are reading and the people important to that person.

There are two big differences in my opinion as well with the 9X4 that I use and the no-layout.

#1 -- The method I use assumes that the man / woman cards is ALWAYS someone you have affections for or a soul mate of sorts IF (and only if) it is active in the reading. There is no need to 'Charge these cards'. So if you're reading for a man and a woman falls in his past-future line, or anywhere else with influence, it means that person's past, present, or future soul mate, wife/husband or significant other (always).