LWB vs. Complete Books?

carley124

I'm a beginner in Tarot and have only been working with the cards for a few weeks. I was looking up meanings in the LWB that the deck, which is the Rider-Waite, comes with. I also have two other books, The Complete Book of Tarot by Juliet Sharman-Burke and Learning the Tarot by Joan Bunning. While the two "complete" books have at least somewhat similar meanings, the LWB is completely different. Sometimes it's the exact opposite of whatever the bigger books say. Should I use the LWB or the other books? Also, if you suggest a more complete book, should I continue with the ones I have or is there a better one?

shadowdancer

the issue of books is a tricky one for sure, as you will find all books have slightly different interpretations. In time you will find you just look at a card and you sort of 'know' what it is saying, particularly the RWS. My suggestion in the meantime is this:

take each card individually and look at it. Write down a few sentences as to what you think is going on. Then look up the card in the books you have. Are there any additional thoughts you think are quite good? If so, add them to your writings.

If you do this for all the cards you will have your own reference sheets made up of your thoughts and those from the book you felt comfortable with.

Others may come up with other suggestions including other books, but I do understand it is easy to get overwhelmed if you have too many books. You want to use the cards as the main reference and not be put off by the sheer volume of reading you may have to do. The reading can come in time, and at a time where you feel it won't be overpowering.

Just an idea here, and may help get you started.

good luck, and welcome to the forum. Remember there is no definitive / exhaustive interpretation written anywhere for a tarot card. Even after 15 years I still get the odd 'eureka' moment which makes it all so special and tingly :) :)

Davina

gregory