Pulling Clarifiers After the Reading

QueenOfTemperance

Hi there :)
I wanted some clarification on a habit I just recently noticed I've fallen into and was hoping all of you here would have some feedback.

I tend to prefer to do freestyle or freehanded readings (ask questions and pull cards as I go rather than using a spread). I find that technique works well for me but on occasion I see an interesting spread and feel the need to try it out. When I do this, I notice that I'll interpret the cards, finish the reading and then a few days later I may have questions/want more information. What I do is recreate the spread with the same cards and then pull clarifiers for the cards I need more information on.

Is this valid? Would you trust the clarifying cards even though they were pulled days (sometimes weeks) later?

Sorry if this is an elementary question. I'm still relatively new to Tarot and to reading in general.

nisaba

I wouldn't personally do it.

How does it work for you Does it seem helpful, or just confusing? If it's helpful, keep doing it. If it isn't, stop.

Tarot4Change

Recreating the spread and trying to read it in more depth later by the use of clarifiers can be limiting. For one, you may find that certain cards that best clarify the situation are already pulled from the deck. Secondly, reading weeks later may need a fresh reading since the situation could have (and many times unknowingly) changed. Lastly, you may find it helpful to have a conversation with the cards, reshuffling when necessary, to get the kind of scope and depth you need at the time so you aren't left with uncertainty. Taking the cards and pulling them as you read can be effective instead of a spread where you interpret after choosing the cards.

RiverRunsDeep