using non traditional decks as a beginner

bethany

Hi! I'm completely new to tarot in most ways. In fact, I picked up my first deck because the images intrigued me and I thought they might help inspire my creative writing and character building. As it happens, this is also a time in my life of spiritual exploration. And I suddenly find that I am drawn to the ideas of tarot and oracles. I don't know that I want to know my future, but I do want to feel connected to the things I know are around me I can't see.

That being said, I've done some research, and am finding my deck hunches to go against conventional wisdom. I am not feeling drawn to or interested in the traditional rider waite deck. At all. I keep being interested in wildwood, shadowscapes, the faeries Oracle. Should I go the way I feel? Or is it important to get a traditional grasp first? Any suggestions on decks or how to start for the first time. I'm a single mother in my last year of my twenties, for reference.

Eremita90

Hi, and welcome :) As most people will confirm, it is much easier to find material (both books and online) related to the Rider Waite Smith -although, if I might add a personal note, most of it is err... mediocre-. So this is something to take into consideration. That being said, by all means use the deck you are drawn to. It might help to look for a companion book for it, if there is one. But don't feel discouraged by the fact that yours is not a traditional deck. Over time you may want to explore some of the more mainstream decks, even just for comparison... or not, it is completely up to you :D

GlitterNova