9 of Wands coming up a lot?

FadeToWhite

I've noticed that the Nine of Wands comes up a LOT in my readings for myself - this has been happening for a few weeks now. The first few times, I thought nothing of it. "Just a coincidence," I said. The next few times, I thought there was something wrong with the physical card itself that was making it turn up on top more often. Checked it all over. Nope. Nothing. When it kept happening, I switched to a different deck, and the same card still kept coming up! It has now happened so many times that when I'm flipping through my deck for review, I see it and think "Oh, there's my card."

I'm new to Tarot, so I only have a very vague idea of what the Nine of Wands means - "soldiering on through hard times/preparing for something difficult" is the way I would sum up my understanding of the card. But like I said, I'm very new at this, so that's probably wrong.

I know it's hard to interpret a card without some context, so here's some of what's going on in my life right now: semester finals, romantic relationship possibly turning sour, quitting cigarettes. Those are the only things I can think of that relate to my understanding of the Nine of Wands.

What can I do to figure out this phenomenon? Pathworking? Meditation? Doing a spread about or around the Nine (is it even possible to do that?)? Should I ask the Tarot "Why does this card keep coming up for me?"

Any thoughts are welcome.

-FadeToWhite

Grizabella

A common way I interpret the 9 of Wands is as being defensive. The RWS image shows a guy who's been through a battle and is standing with his Wands all in a row, his head bandaged, holding onto one of the Wands in case he needs to use them again at short notice. I'd read it that you're feeling tense and on alert for anything else that could go wrong. Quitting smoking alone was enough to tense me up and you've got even more going on. :)