The Very Best* Beginners Spread

Talisman

*I'm not gonna qualify things, but try to sound as dogmatic as possible to encourage disagreement and discussion.

'Lo all,

In a number of posts, most in the archives, I've slammed the Celtic Cross as a spread useful for beginners. (I was the laggard caboose on Thirteen's train; she was the first to say the Emperor had no clothes.)

So, here it is, the absolutely perfect beginner's spread. (Even if this really is the very best advice ever, the absolute beginner like I was, with only a new deck of cards and the little white book (LWB) that came with it, will never see it. Alas.)

The very best spread for a beginner is the three-card spread.

(The wonderful thing about the Celtic Cross, for a beginner with a LWB, is, they have their brand new deck, and really want to look at a lot of cards. Don't tell them they should only lay out one spread a day, or one thoughtful spread a week. Hell, the very day I brought my first deck home, I layed out dozens of Celtic Crosses, thumbing through the LWB with every card, reading and re-reading the scanty definitions. And trying to remember what all those crazy spread positions meant. One card a day? Barring catastrophes, 78 days of solemn, serious study to learn the deck? You gotta be kidding. 'Least the kinda newcomer I was. 'Sides, how you gonna remember that far back, 'less you gotta steeltrap brain. But, if the 3 of Swords shows up 14 times the first day, you tend to recall it. Oh, yeah!)

The three-card spread in endlessly adaptable. It can be anything the beginner wants it to be. Tinder, Kindling and Logs. (A good formula for building a fire.) Or, Uncertain, Maybe and Undecided. Or anything that comes in threes. (I've said this before, but MeeWah, in a whimsical mood, once described it as the Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner spread.) Extremely malleable. Hammer it into the shape you want. A metal you can mold.