1JJ Swiss Tarot

MareSaturni

I thought about getting a Marseille-like tarot. I thought, because i have nothing like that in my collection, and...i could try to learn from it (pips without illustration is something i simply have never dealt with, and i'd like to try).
The problem is, i just deslike the Marseille's drawings, they don't speak at all to me. I know many people love them, but i just...i've tried, but really, not my thing so far.

So i saw, in my local bookstore, this deck for sale: 1JJ Swiss Tarot. I looked for some pictures in the web, and they seem similar to the Marseille's style, but prettier. Yet, i'm unsure if i'd really like this deck, it's quite expensive here (in Brazil): R$ 45,00 (about US$ 25,00). I'm a student and would to save money for a deck that might not be as good as i imagine.

So i'd like some opinion...if you use this deck, how do you deal with the pips without images, what do you think of it, the art...anything you can give me, i'll appreciate. Even personal stories with this deck :)

Thank you for you help :D

philebus

Its difficult for me to answer because I don't read tarot. I can comment on quality and suggest a couple of alternatives though. The 1JJ does not quite follow the standard pattern, replacing the Popess and the Pope with Juno and Jupiter respectively. I can't say how that might affect your use but I know there are many people who read from these. The card stock is quite nice for this pack and has proven durable. (we use it a for a lot of card games, so its durability is well tested!) The size is also very comfortable in use. Personally, I do find it very appealing.