"BRuT" A Modern Tarot by Uusi

Uusi

Hello! I wanted to introduce myself, my name is Linnea Gits and I am a designer and artist with the Chicago-based design studio, Uusi. For the past three years, one of the projects our company has focused on was creating a six-deck, Limited Edition series of playing cards that all shared an emphasis on using Fine Art mediums to create the deck's imagery. With the close of that series this past December we were finally able to turn our energy to one of the original playing card formats – the Tarot!

We love the Tarot not only because it has carried some of the most beautiful, meaningful imagery in the history of cards, but also because it is such a little workhorse of a deck! When not in use as a guide through the secret passageways of the eternal future it can just as happily be used to keep you entertained with hundreds of games of strategy, imagination and luck. In short, we feel it is the perfect deck –*not like we have to tell you that :D

"BRuT" is our take on a traditional, French, game-playing Tarot and we are excited to share a first look at the deck with the Aeclectic Tarot community and are looking forward to your feedback! So much fun to be here!!

Attachments

• uusi_brut_2015.jpg
    uusi_brut_2015.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 1,103

Aeric

Very attractive! The earth tones and choices of mixed fonts remind me of abstract Art Deco.

Uusi

Very attractive! The earth tones and choices of mixed fonts remind me of abstract Art Deco.

Love that! Our style inspiration for this deck was a mix of Brutalism, Art Brut (or naive art) and Early 20th Century Modernism, of which Art Deco would be right at the front :)

Aeric

I also found what I believe to be your Strength card.

It's quite a subversion of the traditional Strength, of a woman gently subduing the lion. This one is much more raw, forceful, Herculean. It reminds me of statues in New York City.

Uusi

I also found what I believe to be your Strength card.