Anime poker cards turned oracle cards

sliderkta

Hello! My name is Kadi. I'm new to the forums (just signed up yesterday), and I couldn't help but notice a thread on playing cards used in cartomancy.
Just thought I should point out an unusual but useful alternative to the regular cartomancy poker card: anime poker cards.

I own an Japanese imported poker card set based on the anime, The Slayers. When it was purchased in 1999 (on my b-day), some people close to me said it looked like a bunch of small tarot cards without the major arcana. The pack is about an inch smaller than a pack of Bicycle poker cards. It costed about $6 at an anime shop. Each card has a different piece of artwork (usually from the manga or a promo poster), and the back of the card is metallic yellow with Lina Inverse (the main character) performing the Dragon Slave spell. I didn't believe what anyone said until I started learning about tarot cards last march.

Recently, I started using the cards, and they're very accurate... like the Fairy Ring oracle cards and the Universal deck I own. And the best part of all... it's not a picky deck! It doesn't give inconclusive or extremely abstract answers to important, but small questions (like if a business is reputable or not-- trust me, this is handy to do in Los Angeles since it too easy for a business owner to lie about their operations). And it handles the critical big questions nicely too (like the steps I must take to get out my financial situation or what my last past life was like). The Fairy Ring and Universal decks seem to like only very critical questions.

I wouldn't be suprised if the creators of the card deck had intended for the deck to be used in divination. Oracles are still taken seriously in Japan unlike here in the US where it is seen as entertainment. I can imagine a young japanese girl using this deck to find out if Mr. Cute Class President will ask her out on a date. ^_~