On Deciphering Combination's Meaning

Balisle

As a beginner I feel like card combinations are sometimes the hardest thing to be figured out. Yet, a very satisfying feeling when you have that "ah-ha" moment of finally knowing what it's all about.

I have read many posts and ideas on how to decipher a combination's meaning. Like numerology, elements and even mythology(?).

For me, I like to line up cards the cards side by side. And then try to see the story that the cards are trying to tell me, by the pictures and keywords. Maybe it's because I like stories - keywords and pictures helped me in figuring out what the cards mean. It's also a very easy method for a beginner like me

One example would be: 4 of Pentacles, King of Cups and Temperance. For me, I see a man who has complete control of his emotions and maturity to mix many different variables into a desirable outcome.

So what're your favourite ways to decipher a combination's meaning? I'd love to know and learn more about the various ways of doing it! :D

Barleywine

To me, this is where the challenge and the fun come together. If you're using a deck with narrative scenes on the minors, you can always use the visual cues from the images along with the various meanings and correspondences to create a "story-line" as you've done with your example. One of the best books I've seen on blending the card meanings is Elizabeth Hazel's The Tarot Decoded: Understanding Dignities and Correspondences. It's main thrust is weighting and adjusting the potency and purity of expression for cards in a combination using the classical elements (suits), but she also goes into the idea of dignity ("strengthening or weakening") according to the appearance of cards of the same number, rank or astrological association in a combination. I think you could get a lot of mileage out of her ideas.

Balisle