Decks v. Deck apps

MaryHeather

I've been experimenting for a couple of months now with deck apps for my daily draws. I love the idea of "if I have my phone, I have a deck with me". I also like the option of having a journal that I can make on-the-go notes in. In practice, however... Not so much.

I'm finding that without the tactile interaction with the cards, the connection isn't there. Has anyone else had this experience?

Barleywine

The only purpose I might have for a phone app would be to be able to look up a card if I had any reason to. I have no temptation toward them since we have no cell service here and I therefore don't own a smart phone to use them with. I certainly wouldn't read with them since they're too much like one of those "fortune telling machines." I need to handle the cards to be able to feel connected enough to read them.

Snowhunter

I prefer having the physical deck but when I'm out somewhere and have a question, the app is convenient. I use the Tarot of the Vampyres app when I'm out, or when my toddler is being grabby, or when I don't feel like getting set up for a reading (get a deck out of storage, shuffling, etc.) I didn't think I'd be able to connect with images in an app but I did, so much so that I ended up getting the physical deck.

Amanda

Nope! I :heart: apps! They're so convenient, and I like that I'm really not paying a higher price for them or having to store them. For instance, I don't really like the Tarot Illuminati, but I have it in app form because I like it's set-up and card interpretations. Totally dislike the artwork though.

Apps allow me to be a little more adventurous with my tarot deck purchases, and if I end up not liking a deck, it's not that big of a deal because it didn't cost that much and I don't have to find some place to store it or try to get rid of it.