Smith-Waite Centennial deck is THE definitive RWS -- a must-have!

gregory1956

I've been using my US Games Rider Waite deck since 1981, and I was satisfied with the colours -- not too bright and not too muted (and no US Games copyright on the front of the cards in the lower right-hand corner). The card stock is quite thick and substantial, and the cards have a completely matte in finish; no glossy coating at all, which I like.

Recently, however, I purchased the Smith-Waite Centennial Tarot Deck that comes with the Pamela Colman Smith Commemorative Set. At first, I thought that the colours were a bit dark, but after using it for several weeks, it is absolutely my go-to deck. The more muted palette of the cards gives them a more mystical appearance, and the back of the cards features the rose from the Death card along with Smith's monogram (in other words, not the bland blue-and-black tartan design that US Games has been using ever since the company started printing the RWS deck in 1971). The US Games copyright is still there in the lower-right corner, but it's small and relatively unobtrusive.

If you're looking for the definitive version of this iconic tarot deck, the Centennial deck is a must-have.

MissChiff

I have the deck in a tin.... I second this vote..

Desecrated

I hope they do a giant version of it.

starla

I love this deck too - everything about it - and it's my go to deck for clear answers.

Richard

I have around eight different editions of the RWS, and this is absolutely my favorite, both the regular size Centennial as well as the one in a tin.

Aeric

I'll be that guy.

I'm disagreeing here. This is still an altered version of the actual, original complete artifact "Pam-A" decks, from the lost original plates, in possession of several people in the world. It's still a version US Games got to subtly alter in order to make it their "own."