(In)Significance of Marseille colours?

teomat

Hello all.

I've recently obtained the Noblet tarot and have been reading the LWB description of the colours used in the deck (and their significance). It mentions that the Marteau Grimaud deck was incorrectly coloured and that this altered the 'original meanings' of the cards.

As a total novice to Marseille decks, I'm not quite sure what to make of the apparent importance of colour in these decks.
I know that modern decks often place an emphasis on colour meanings, but how true is this in the Marseille? My initial impressions were that there was no significance to the colours (and how they were painted) - rather it was just a random method employed in the printing process (and the availability of the colours). Also the painting seems very haphazard and often doesn't conform to the linework.

If there was a specific intention in the colour scheme (and actually painting), could anyone point me to a resource/thread on this?

thanks.

thinbuddha

Just my opinion:

I think that whatever anyone tells you about the coloration of early decks will include a fair bit of speculation.

Certainly colors mean something- they elicit emotional responses, and changing the coloration of a card can have a big impact on how one will view the card. Any artist would have known this 350 years ago. That said, I don't think that anyone can say with any degree of certainty what the intention of any particular card maker may have been.

One could even speculate that the sorts of meanings and emotional responses that we assign to colors could be different than the meanings and emotional responses that a person in 17th century Europe may have assigned to colors.