Aleister Crowley's Thoth - should i or shouldn't i ? Any advice would be welcome!

MagsStardustBlack

Hi - Mags here, i am new to tarot and i have been studying a deck i bought and reading lots. Although i find myself increasingly drawn to the AC Thoth deck, i find the images fascinating and am intrigued by the complexity of the symbology of the deck. I ordered the deck, then panicked and cancelled the order, i had also ordered the DuQuette book, which i now have and have started to read. The thing is i like the deck a lot, but people i know (non tarot students) have discouraged me. So i feel like i must be weird if i want it so bad. My mum was brought up in Foyers, and there for has heard alot of stories from the house AC had near there. Should i stick with the deck i have and forget about the Thoth? Should i leave it until later in my studies? Or should i just get it? Please, any advice opinions would be welcomed, thanks xxMags. Also which edition is best, i thought may be the Purple Box (three versions of the Magnus card), thanks in advance for any help!!!!

Lillie

Hi!

I've been to Foyers, lovely place!

Took a walk by the waterfall, also saw AC's house and that weirdy little grave yard across the road.

Do you have any good spooky AC stories to tell?

I see you have the Legacy of the Divine. It's a lovely deck. Very beautiful.
But if you want the Thoth you should get it.
Nothing wrong with having two decks.

The deck has a reputation because of Crowley's reputation.
And people can and will think what they like about him.
But in the end it's just a bunch of bits of cardboard, same as any other deck.
But with very lovely pictures on.
You are not going to get a bad case of demons or possession or anything just from owning or using the deck.

I have it, I use it.
It's not done me no harm.