Finally! Chronata's tarot deck in progress

Chronata

All right already!
I finally got up enough courage to talk about my tarot deck! (Thanks, Baba Prague!)

I have been rather apprehensive about sharing this for a couple of reasons. None of them are particularly valid.

At first I was worried because I am an outsider artist. Not a fine artist, but more like a folk artist. I have had absolutely no training and everything I do is self-taught. Even though my art works have been selling for many years, I still feel a little weird about sometimes...especially since there are sooo many really talented artists here on Aeclectic making decks.

I realize that I have a style...and it may not be everyone's taste, but it is me. And this deck is very personal, to my own taste.

I am calling it the Tarot of the Midnight Masquerade.

I was also a little apprehensive about my own theme. I know there are other theme decks out there with a similar theme. Blue Fusion's got that gorgeous Masque deck...and when I first saw Folchi's Venetian Carnival deck...my heart sank! It was after I did all my preliminary sketches, and I discovered a real similarity, and thought that folks might think my own deck was derivitive.

A good, and very wise friend of mine reminded me that there is room in the tarot world for similar deck themes. After all, there are many many cat decks, and many fairy decks, and most people are not complaining!

The theme of the deck comes from my love of Mardi Gras and Carnival. I have been a costumer, mask-maker and puppetmaker (or "Masketeer and Puppetress"!)for about 15 years, and it naturally has melded with my love of tarot. I have been working on the sketches for about 10 years now.

I wanted to do something a bit different with the idea of the LWB as well.
This deck, when completed will have something more like a story book to explain what is happening in each scene...