The 8 of Swords revisited...

Belladonna

I'd like to revisit my understanding of the 8 of Swords and would love input and insight from all of you out there!

Do any of you compare the 8 of Swords to the 2 of Swords? How do they differ?

Who sees this card as having to deal with or choose between two particular situations?

How much is conflict represented by this card? How much is purely mental anguish?

Does anybody see this card as chaos, and the need to focus?

RedEarth

I am open to also hearing others thoughts, as I am only learning myself :) But these are my ideas so far:
I do see the 8 of Swords as representing mental anguish, as well as the need for focus by force of will.
I also see blockages due to anger that is ill-directed or remains undealt with, that could require intentional redirection of that energy.

hth
RedEarth

Moongold

Belladonna, are you referring only to the RWS deck?

The more I learn the more I see how different the RWS sometimes is from the older Tarots and even some of the newer Tarots such as Sephiroth.

To start with the fundamentals Swords are about air associated with thinking, intellectual stuff and so on.

Number 2 represents the pair, changeability, adaptability, and indecisiveness. It also represents the female principle of receptivity.

Number 8 is about power, control and responsibility, ardor, will, steadfastness. 8 has the will to try to overcome all obstacles.

This is interesting when looking at the RWS images. I used to see 2 Swords as being caught in a bind, unable to make a decision but I don’t see that as the whole story now. It could mean that, depending on context, but it could also mean someone trying to achieve a balance in ideas, approaches, weighing up the options. The blindfold could mean simply looking within for these answers, emphasizing the element of Swords – air (thinking).