Recommended Reading?

earlbecke

I've been using the Thoth deck for a couple of years now (my first and favorite deck) but I feel like it's so complex that I don't understand it as well as I could, especially since most things I've read on tarot are based on RWS, a deck I don't even own or use. I bought The Book of Thoth a while ago and found it to be illuminating, but I also feel that since I'm not familiar with a lot of the Kabbalistic symbolism and such that I'm really missing out on some of the things Crowley writes about--also, he's not exactly easy reading (not that I can't handle that).

So, I know there are a few different books about this deck that are written more for the average reader. I want to find a good book that will give me a better picture of Crowley's vision but which explains things in a way that doesn't depend on a lot of background knowledge that Crowley's writing just assumes the reader will be familar with. Are there any books like this? What different books on the Thoth Tarot can people recommend, and why? If anyone can help me out with this, I'd be really grateful. :)

Aeon418

Your best bet would be to take a look at Understanding Aleister Crowley's Thoth Tarot by Lon Milo DuQuette.

Lon wrote it specifically to fill in those gaps in background knowledge that you mentioned.

spiral

I second that - an interesting read, even though DuQuette insists on apologising for Crowley which I find slightly annoying. I have to say that, much like DuQuette himself says, the best read is still Crowley's BOT. I actually find that only by re-reading the book several times over do I really get a handle on what Crowley is saying. Plus, as my own understanding of alchemy, qabalah etc grows, so does the BOT grow in value with every read. I used to read Crowley's essays on the various cards and think, "okay, that's all well and good, but what are you TALKING about man?". Then, bit by bit it starts to make sense.