A smile for a tip

Passarelli

Hello,
I'm a tarot newbie still working on cards meanings, so i'm here asking for beginners tips. In your early days, did you use any exercise to learn cards meanings? What have worked best for you?

ps. I'm currently reading Tarot for Yourself (Greer) and I'm doing her three cards exercise.
pp. Sorry my poor english.

ravenest

For me ... lots of things, but especially ... time .

Paciência .... devoção :)

After that (as the most important) there are lots of techniques. Probably, the best way is to find out your own 'learning style'.

people have different ways of learning best. Find the way that suits you best - the type of learner that you are - you will learn better and quicker if you apply the method that suits you;

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Learning_styles

Good luck - have fun with it ! :thumbsup:

Passarelli

Thanks! I'll search for my learn style.

Dark Victory '39

Hi Passarelli,

I wish i would have learned earlier about storybook-style reading, or simply reading what i see being enacted in the pictures regardless if they matched traditional meanings or not. My readings were really static for a long time because i was so afraid of veering from my two or three memorized versions of each card. That and reading for myself out loud; makes a huge difference vs. just 'thinking' the meaning. I know, i know you're talking to yourself, and it feels a little weird at first, but you can bypass your brain in a good way. i don't remember if greer went into that in that particular book or not.

Passarelli

She emphasizes the intuition training. And About speaking out loud and telling a story, I'll try this technique.

Thanks for the tips.