Anyone heard of 'The Tarot Workbook' by Kathleen McCormack??

Aerin

I've seen this in my bookclub magazine, and it looks quite interesting -see here for some details .http://www.barronseduc.com/0764122274.html

Sadly I can't tell without getting it, so has anyone else seen it? Any views?

Aerin

HudsonGray

A friend got this book, she said it was really useful, but it was like a college textbook in many ways. You have to write things out (many people remember better if they write things rather than read them). I haven't seen it yet.

Actually, the book I would recommend is 78 Degrees of Wisdom.

Aerin

Yes, that's a good book, I've got it. Along with lots of Mary Greer and etc.

This one looked like it might help deepen my understanding of card combinations, that's why I was attracted.

Aerin

Khatruman

It does sound like a textbook

I find it looks intriguing, being a teacher and perpetual student. I am very fond of workbook style texts because in my experience as a teacher, I know that learners get more if they work with the text, not just read. I did take exception to a certain comment in the blurb about the book: "The reader must provide the correct interpretation." It seems to indicate that tarot reading is like doing math, you find the right answer. I think that it is more like literature, something that has clear themes, but open for interpretation by the particular reader. The blurb goes on to qualify that there are expert interpretations given in the "answer" section, and the reader can compare their interpretations to the expert, but I am still turned off by that correctness issue.

Peace!

Aerin

OK, I finally got the book from the library and I'm glad I didn't buy it.

It is very much a traditional interpretation, highly predictive. From that perspective it is interesting, however it isn't the way I read. The illustrations are pip based, so if you haven't got a good grasp of meanings then you would be lost.