Differences In Decks- How Do You Read Them?

FutureMoth

This question is undoubtably going to put me pretty far down on the novice-meter but I am a novice, so I guess I may as well ask.

So, I have become pretty familiar with the Rider-Waite deck. Very familiar with the Minor Arcana, however less so with the Court Cards. I am still learning more and more about the Major Arcana. However, I am intersted in buying a new deck or two. But I have some questions.
The meanings of cards, obviously differs from deck to deck. I have learned the meanings of the Rider-Waite deck by reading about them and then using them a bunch to gain my own fuller understanding. Is there a good way to go about learning the meanings of a new deck? There is no "Official Meanings" page for other decks on this website, for example. What would be the best way to go about learning the meanings of a new deck?

balenciaga

Just go ahead and read with them. But be patient with yourself because it might feel really weird if the rws has been your only deck. Don't give up if you feel frustrated and feel you can't read; this feeling will pass.
good luck - you can do it:)

thinbuddha

I've been reading for maybe 5 years, which makes me something of a novice too. I can only tell you how I handle it- sometimes it works out, other times I'm left wondering what it is I'm looking at.

Normally, I read with decks that don't have pictorial pips- in other words, I'm reading with decks like the so called "Tarot de Marseille" style of cards. The amount of variation between 2 different TdM decks is less than what you see between more contemporary decks, but I think that you can use similar reading methods.