How much astrology is really necessary?

Le Fanu

Im currently enjoying studying the Thoth, lurking in the wings here, reading threads and books, looking hard at the cards and one thing really bothers me. The astrology in Thoth.

I have zero knowledge of astrology. I probably just about know the dates of the star signs and not much else. O and I also know how to draw the symbols. The more I read about Thoth, the more I see astrology is fundamental, yet - at the same time - is, in itself, a lifetime study. Is not knowing astrology really going to hamper my understanding of Thoth?

Give it to me straight.

So far Ive kind of skimmed over the astrological references simply because I don´t have the lingo so it doesn´t mean much anyway. I mean "Mars in Capricorn" (or is it Capricorn in Mars?) and the idea of being "exalted" (?) i.e, not only "in" but exalted too??

I have a very basic astrology book (which I shalln´t name). Ive seen recommendations here, but I think they still assume a certain amount of knowledge.

My question is how much astrology should I know? Im enjoying examining the Thoth so much, Im treading carefully and don´t want to get too snowed under and disheartened. It´s probably quite difficult to convey here just how little I know. Ive been reading with/about tarot for 25 years now and have always managed to avoid the astrological aspects (which I shall dare to say is easier with the TdM) But I keep coming up against a brick wall in the Thoth. Having to skim paragraphs in DuQuette and Snuffin simply because I don´t have the background knowledge. "Aquarius in Atziluth". What on earth does that mean? And who decided that Virgo is The Hermit, and yet the Tower is not a sign, but a planet?

So, in a nutshell, what should I know?

Planets and their qualities? What else?

cardlady22