Blake ~ General Connections and Themes

Bat Chicken

This is a thread that will hold discussions on themes that are throughout the deck and interesting information on William Blake that adds to the use and enjoyment of the deck.

This post will act as an index for various themes:

Druidism
Lost Tribes of Israel and British Israelism

Bat Chicken

In my crossover study of the Blake and Greenwood Tarot, I have found rather interesting connections between them. For the purposes of this thread, I have had a look at the controversies that surround Blake and his beliefs.

Blake was an engraver by trade and others in his field were exploring a theory which has later become known as British Israelism. The suggestion that one of the lost tribes of Israel came to Britain and founded many Celtic places and perhaps the culture itself was extremely popular at that time, and in certain circles, still is. Another popular movement during Blake's time was the first Druid revival.

Early Druidic revival (meso-Druidism?) was created in the early 18th century during Blake's lifetime (although discussed widely in the 17th c) and the original Order still exists, but, it is and was MALE only, much like freemasonry. The magician/mystic was something these early revivalists had been very conscious of through a renewed interest in occultism. Blake's direct involvement and even leadership in the movement is controversial.

This meso-Druid movement did put a lot of stock into the idea that the Celts of the islands were, in fact, one of the lost 10 tribes, and one discredited theorist had gone so far as to suggest that Britain was "the original seat of Bibilcal history" (S. Foster Damon). But they also believed at that time that the megaliths and stone circles were built by the Druids.