7 of Swords in the Connolly Deck

Shannon Rae

The 7 of Swords is a card that typically denotes some kind of sneakiness that we are witness to in some manner or other.

But what in the world does Ms. Connolly's 7 of Swords picture mean?

What is going on with the muscians? They are on a cliff, there are swords in the sky. WTF?

Shannon Rae

I've done some internet research and have come up with nothing as far as interpreting this picture for the 7 of S.

I've been using this deck for 9 years now and I trust it completely. This image is the only one that is inscrutable.

Musicians on a cliff. And one guy is playing two flutes tied together. Weird.

What does this have to do with sneakiness?

Myrrha

The Seven of Swords doesn't always have to mean sneakiness.

Another interpretation is poor planning, bad judgement, not taking possible consequences of your actions into account. Are the musicians showing good judgement by having their ecstatic music session right on the edge of a cliff? They think they are doing OK and that the swords are safely stuck into the ground, they don't see the ones overhead that could come down on them at any time. Flutes stuck together like that are called "Pan Pipes". Pan is associated with panic, frenzy, sensuality.

The RWS deck Seven of Swords is another example of a person showing bad judgement and poor planning. He is trying to sneak out of the enemy's camp with a huge armful of swords just as the sun is rising.

Lee