Direction of the Elements in Thelemic Pentagram rituals

Grigori

I'm studying some Thelemic Pentagram rituals and am perplexed by the direction of the elements. I understand that we are using the order of the fixed signs of the zodiac, rather than the four winds as used in the GD version, however am wondering why Earth is given the starting point in the East. Why not start with any of the other elements?

I've been happy with the East/Air/Raphael/Tipareth/Sunrise attribution on the LBRP, so am curious about the reason for the change here.

Any comments received very gratefully! :)

thorhammer

I seem to remember there was something about this in LMD's "The Magick of Aleister Crowley". Try Chapters 4 and 5 - I'm not up for re-reading just now (apart from the fact that I was so disappointed in the book I don't want to look at it for another six months) but if you can't find it (or don't have the book) I will push my luck and ask Lon through the Thoth course contact for you, if you like.

\m/ Kat

Grigori

thanks Kat, I did look at that book, there was some discussion about how a Thelemite perceives Earth compared to Osirian views, but I didn't see anything specific as to why start there. The closest I can see is that this means the order is Earth, Air, Water, Fire which has a developmental pattern that seems appropriate. I'm hoping for something more howevevr :D

thorhammer

Fair enough :) Could it have something to do with the cycling through from the highest high to the lowest low, Earth being the throne of Spirit and all that?

Just theorising now. I need more sleep :)

\m/ Kat

Aeon418

Stele - Pantacle - Earth - Ace of Disks - 666

ΣTHΛH + 666 = 718

III:10 Get the stélé of revealing itself; set it in thy secret temple—and that temple is already aright disposed—& it shall be your Kiblah for ever.

III:19 That stélé they shall call the Abomination of Desolation; count well its name, & it shall be to you as 718.

III:21 Set up my image in the East

Grigori