Western or Vedic ?

astroandtarot

i am still learning Western but i tap into Vedic a bit lately.
i notice that Vedic's dasha is quite accurate and wondering if any of you have notice which is better ? i know more and more are tapping into Vedic but boy, Vedic is so multi layered with their charts.

NamasteIndia

Astrology is 5000 year old subject.
It started with Parashara Rishi writing down Vedic astrology and over the years there were many versions of astrology.
Indian astrology considers the moon sign most important but western astrology gives priority to sun sign.
Then there is bhrigu astrology, KP astrology so on and forth.
Vedic does not consider pluto, neptune and uranus whereas western astrology includes them and finds them important.
here in india i have seen people practising samudrik shastra which is combination of palmistry, astrology and face reading its very interesting and accurate...

Minderwiz

I'm not sure mixing the two branches of Astrology is ultimately likely to succeed. Both are wonderful and valid traditions, but in many ways as different as chalk and cheese. Moreover, there's no single approach to either, there are huge differences in Western Astrology, in terms of approach and method. Not all Western Astrologers use the outer planets, or even consider the Sun as the most important planet, traditionally the Moon is the most important one, but there is not the same detailed approach that you will find in Vedic traditions.

You might try looking at medieval approaches, which is Western, without the outers, and which made much use of firdaria, which give planetary periods used in delineating the major periods of life. Alternatively explore the vedic tradition and see if that would better fit your approach.