oldest known tarot deck - can anybody tell me?

Dark Eyes

Hi everyone,
Just curious, can anybody tell me what the earliest known Tarot deck was, and is there a deck very close to it that is available today ??
I have been working with tarot for many years, but someone asked me what the oldest known tarot deck was ! I know a bit about the history of tarot, but would like to get a deck that was very close to the earliest known one to work with. anything that comes close ?
All advice and info welcome.
Regards Dark eyes. :)

Logiatrix

Hi, Dark Eyes!

I think that would be the Visconti-Sforza.
Take a look at the "Categories" section in the DECKS realm on the main part of AT; there's a list of historical tarots there where you can see the Visconti.
Also take a look at the Marseille--I think that's the oldest COMPLETE tarot. The Visconti has some cards missing or were never a part of the deck at all; those "missing" cards are artistically matched and replaced in the deck(s) now on the market. I believe the Marseille is a few centuries younger, but all of what you see is what cartomantics saw then.
Then, there's the argument that neither of these decks were used for divination--strictly gaming...
*sigh*
Can of worms, anyone?
:D

Diana

Re: Hi, Dark Eyes!

Tauni said:
Then, there's the argument that neither of these decks were used for divination--strictly gaming...
*sigh*
Can of worms, anyone?
:D

Some people will argue about anything. Even about worms in cans. As long as the decks are not eaten by the worms, then we are pretty safe.

Dark Eyes: When you've got your deck (or even before that), you are more than welcome to join us in the Historical section. :)

jmd

As mentioned, the earliest decks around and in print are various renditions of the Visconti-Sforza (though there are various views as to not only whether it was a full Tarot deck, but also whether it may have followed an existing pattern) - and the Marseilles.